Band Tour Begins March 7

Concert-Band-header.jpgThe 97th annual Concert Band Tour, put on by Central Methodist University’s Swinney Conservatory of Music, will soon hit the road, with concerts planned across the state from March 7-11.

Led by Dr. Dori Waggoner, dean of the Swinney Conservatory and interim director of bands, the concert band will set out on the morning of Thursday, March 7 and have performances throughout the rest of the weekend and into Monday. The band will perform at school districts in the morning and afternoon before holding an evening performance at a United Methodist Church.

The following stops are scheduled for the tour and open to the public:

Thursday, March 7
7 p.m. at Harper Chapel United Methodist Church (Osage Beach)

Friday, March 8
7 p.m. at First United Methodist Church of Lebanon

Saturday, March 9
7 p.m. at Waypoint United Methodist Church (Waynesville)

Sunday, March 10
10 a.m. at First United Methodist Church of Rolla
5 p.m. at First United Methodist Church of Jefferson City

The repertoire for the 2024 tour includes more than 20 pieces of music. Featured solos throughout the concerts will include Josh Derendinger on trumpet in “Concert Etude” by Alexander Goedicke, Matt Hamilton on trumpet in “Concerto for Trumpet, III. Rondo” by Oskar Bohme, Andrew Adams on euphonium in “Rhapsody for Euphonium” by James Curnow, Casey Brooks on piccolo in “Through the Air” by August Damm, and Mason Sickler on Marimba in “Two Pieces for Marimba, I. North” by Benoit Chantry.

Brooks and Hamilton are this year’s Keith House Band Fellow and Ken and Nancy Seward Band Fellow, respectively. The rest of the concert band for 2024 includes:

Flute – Casey Brooks, Johnny Brownell, Gessie Bruce, Hayleigh Coats, Rachael Cupp, and Abigail Hicks

Clarinet – Kylie Dickinson, Faith Jasper, Caleb Raley, Matty Simons, and Jordyn Williamson

Bass clarinet – Sadie Burchett and Nathan Jester

Alto saxophone – Dr. Lucas Willsie (faculty)

Tenor saxophone – Bre James

Trumpet – Josh Derendinger, Matt Hamilton, Kaydee Hummel, and Matt Kilmer

Horn – Madisyn Conway, Alden Senor, and Tambria Wilson

Trombone – Jaxson Grossenburg, Kyle Drewes, and Dr. David Witter (faculty)

Euphonium – Andrew Adams

Tuba – Wesley Miner and Trinity Thompkins

Percussion – Elizabeth Berry, Max Blankenship, Taylor Baker, Grace O’Neal, and Mason Sickler

Learn More
Apply Now