Faculty, Staff Honored with Awards

ODK-awards-header.jpgPrior to the beginning of classes this week, outstanding members of the Central Methodist University faculty and staff were recognized at an August 19 meeting.

President Roger Drake presented the Omicron Delta Kappa Awards to four employees who were voted by the students as being worthy of recognition. This year’s Chester E. Hanson Outstanding Teacher Awards went to Dr. Ashley Lough, associate professor of biology, and Dr. Elizabeth Gold, associate professor of psychology. Criminal justice professor Marco Tapia was awarded the Momberg Gold Chalk Award for the second year in a row, and Lynette Beeler, administrative assistant for the music department, won her second straight Outstanding Staff Member Award.

In addition to the ODK awards, Dr. Drake also recognized the following individuals for milestone years of service to Central:

40 years
John Flanders, professor of business and economics

30 years
Dr. Rita Gulstad, provost

25 years
Dr. Barbara Berwin, professor of music; Dr. Paul Porneluzi, professor of biology; and Leasa Strodtman, library technical services

20 years
Roy “Skip” Vandelicht, director of bands

15 years
Cathy Baxter, assistant dean for international student services; Dr. John Bellefeuille, associate professor of chemistry; Julie Bennett, associate professor of business; Colin Brink, associate professor of communication; Theresa Keown, associate professor of clinical counseling; Dr. Susan Quigley-Duggan, professor of voice and opera; and Greg Thurmon, associate professor of biology

10 years
Dr. Travis Johnson, associate professor of English; Peggy O’Connell, First Class coordinator; Angela Schubert, assistant professor of clinical counseling; Michelle Schuler, assistant dean – St. Louis; Pam Shackelford, associate professor of accounting; Janice Watts, housekeeping; Derry Wiswall, director of plant operations; and Nicolette Yevich, director of career development

5 years
Rachel Haskamp, online advisor; Tracey Huber, academic advisor; Gary Kunze, ground crew; Gregg Medendorp, director of institutional analysis; Danny Miller, online faculty program director; Steve Parr, campus safety officer; Kelly Rohrbach, OTA academic fieldwork coordinator; Steve Scheiner, site coordinator – Sedalia; Dr. Travis Smith, assistant professor of philosophy and religion; Marty Steward, football defensive coordinator; Lauren Strand, associate professor of nursing; Grant Swicegood, assistant professor of mathematics; and Marco Tapia, assistant professor of criminal justice

Learn More
Apply Now