Students Recognized with Fine Arts Awards

Fine-Arts-award.jpgA school year’s worth of outstanding performances and hard work by Central Methodist University students was recognized on Saturday as the Fine Arts Division held its annual award reception. Students, faculty, and other guests “attended” the event in the form of a Zoom conference.

Dr. Dori Waggoner, chair of the Fine Arts Division, began the event by welcoming all to the meeting and congratulating the students on all they accomplished this year. Professor Skip Vandelicht then took over to announce the award winners for the division, complete with virtual certificates and applause sound effects.

Award winners included the following students:

  • Keaton Denney (Cole Camp, Mo.) – Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Collegiate Honor Award, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Scholastic Award, Dane Nelson Memorial Award, Choir Fellow, Opera Fellow, Best Male Actor in a Leading Role (The Mikado)
  • Joshua Stettes (Pacific, Mo.) – Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Scholastic Award, Herman C. Byrd Award, Music Festival Fellow
  • Cori Bryan (Springfield, Mo.) – Sigma Alpha Iota Collegiate Honor Award, Dr. Joseph Geist Award in Performing Arts
  • Hannah Guilford (Centralia, Mo.) – Sigma Alpha Iota Scholastic Award
  • Amanda Lewis (Palmyra, Mo.) – Raney Winter Nafme-C Award, Luther T. Spayde Award, Missouri Federation of Music Clubs, Conservatory Singers Fellow
  • Jordan Fallis (Moberly, Mo.) – Hickman Award for Music
  • Ezechiel Daos (Dixon, Mo.) – Music Teachers National Association Student Achievement Award
  • KeKona Asi (Waynesville, Mo.) – American Choral Directors Association National Student Choral Musician Award, Nancy Thompson Jones Gem Award, Conservatory Singers Fellow, Phoenix Award
  • Alec Fields (Fulton, Mo.) – W.D. Settle Award, Drum Major Award
  • Dakota Bartel (Troy, Mo.) – Martin C. Harrall Award
  • Libby Cueni-Smith (Chillicothe, Mo.) – R. Paul Drummond Memorial Award
  • Hailey Sage (Fayette, Mo.) – Helen Puckett Thogmorton Award for Excellence in Music, Best Female Actor in a Supporting Role (Fun Home)
  • Madalyn Bartholomew (Salisbury, Mo.) – Prof. Paul A. Montemurro Award, Band Fellow
  • Nathan Wren (Ballwin, Mo.) – Swinney Conservatory Outstanding Freshman Award
  • Kylie VanGundy (Wentzville, Mo.) – Swinney Conservatory Outstanding Musician Award
  • Bobby Schaefer (Macon, Mo.) – Swinney Conservatory Outstanding Musician Award
  • Mikayla Uhlemeyer (Columbia, Mo.) – Swinney Conservatory Super Hero Award
  • Rob Brown (St. Peters, Mo.) – Mike Magyar Fine Arts-Leadership Annual Award, Outstanding Newcomer (theatre), Best Male Actor in a Supporting Role (The Mikado)
  • Myriah Araiza (Columbia, Mo.) – Martin E. Kooi Excellence in Theatre Arts Award
  • Audrey Brandon (Moberly, Mo.) – Keith House Band Fellow
  • Alex Autry (Norborne, Mo.) – Music Festival Fellow
  • Austin Bristow (Fulton, Mo.) – Music Festival Fellow
  • Megan Adams (Fulton, Mo.) – Outstanding Color Guard Member
  • Taylor Pennington (Rocheport, Mo.) – Outstanding Color Guard Member
  • Jesus Pena (Brownsville, Texas) – Shop Superstar
  • Zach Barnes (Jefferson City, Mo.) – Backstage Magician
  • Emily Braden (Eolia, Mo.) – Best Assistant Director/Stage Manager (Fun Home)
  • Catherine Barnard (Columbia, Mo.) – Best Female Actor in a Leading Role (Fun Home)
  • Anna Guerkink (Perryville, Mo.) – Most Versatile Player

This year’s High Flying Junior Eagles were Ben Gouge, Ethan McBain, Haiden Sage, and Zane Spoeder. Students were also recognized for earning high cumulative grade point averages.

For more information on CMU’s fine arts organizations, visit the music ensembles and theatre pages.

Learn More
Apply Now