Jazz Concert Scheduled for November 17

With the holidays just around the corner, the Central Methodist University Jazz Band will do its part to get the campus community in the spirit with its annual concert, scheduled for November 17.

Beginning at 4 p.m. in the Linn Memorial United Methodist Church, the concert will feature various styles of jazz, including a dance band arrangement of “Let It Snow.”

CMU musicians in the band have been preparing twice a week for the show under the direction of Professor Jamie Baker. Baker has been a professional jazz alto saxophonist for more than 20 years and is looking forward to directing his first concert in Linn Memorial.

Songs on the program for the night will include:

  • • “Blues in the Night,” composed by Johnny Mercer and Harold Arlen, arranged by Paul Jennings, with solo by Kody Bartel
  • • “Povo,” composed by Freddie Hubbard, arranged by Erik Morales, with solo by Dominique Jordan
  • • “God Bless the Child,” composed by Arthur Herzog, Jr. and Billie Holiday, arranged by Sammy Nestico, with solo by Madalyn Bartholomew
  • • “Ease on Down the Road,” composed by Charlie Smalls, arranged by John Berry, with solos by Connor Rich and Dominique Jordan
  • • “All God’s Children,” composed by Dominic Spera, with solos by Spencer Dry and Alec Fields
  • • “Dues Blues,” composed by Dominic Spera
  • • “Let It Snow!” composed by Sammy Cahn and Julie Styne, arranged by Johnny Warrington, with solo by Isaac Bartholomew
  • • “Don’t Git Sassy,” composed by Thad Jones, with solos by Kody Bartel, Spencer Dry, and Dominique Jordan
  • • “Bye Bye Blues,” composed by Fred Hamm, Dan Bennett, Bert Lown, and Chauncey Gray, arranged by Rob McConnell, with solos by Madalyn Bartholomew and Alec Fields
  • • “Get It On,” composed by Bill Chase and Terry Richards, arranged by Leonard Moss, with solo by Dominique Jordan
  • • “Fool Me Once,” composed by Gordon Goodwin, with solos by Dominique Jordan, Connor Rich, Kody Bartel, and Spencer Dry.

Alto saxophone players on the night will include Josh Stettes, Dominique Jordan, Austin Schaedler, and Jonathan Schlared. Tenor sax players will be Alec Fields, Isaac Bartholomew, Connor Rich, and Bria Neill. Trumpet players will be Kody Bartel, Mike Brown, Kyler Perry, and Audrey Brandon. Trombonists will include Madalyn Bartholomew, Michael Arnold, Kenzie Sisney, Stephen Carrillo, and Kate Anderson, while Nick Vick will be on the baritone sax.

In the rhythm section will be Zach Kierstead on piano, Spencer Dry on guitar, Clayton Garnett and Connor Sanchegraw on bass guitar, and Austin Bristow on drum set.

The concert is open to the public and free to attend.

Learn More
Apply Now