Release Party Held For Magazine Of The Arts

Central Methodist University’s magazine of the arts, Inscape, recently unveiled a variety of creative works by CMU students, faculty, and staff, as well as high school students who took part in CMU’s Young Writer’s Day.

The magazine’s 44th edition was revealed during a release party on Wednesday, April 24, which invited contributing writers and artists.

Inscape editorsEnglish majors Dylan Lewis, from Kirksville, and Madilynn Lyons, from New Franklin, were this year’s Inscape editors. Contributing editors were Darren Defreitas, a psychology major from Castries Caribbean, Saint Lucia; Molly Lyons, an English major from New Franklin; Ashley Patzwald, an English major from Linn Creek; and Kylie Tillman, a psychology and criminal justice double major from Fayette.

Awards were granted for the magazine’s cover, and for first, second, and third place winners in poetry, fiction, nonfiction, ten-minute plays, and the categories of photography, art, and drawings. In addition to a certificate, first place recipients also received cash prizes.

Natalie Van Horn, a marine biology major from Raymore, won the privilege of having her photo titled “Dragons Can Be Beaten” featured on the front and back cover of Inscape.

The award for first place in poetry went to Grace Stumbaugh, an education and English double major from Concordia, for “Norwegian Sky.” Molly Lyons won second place for “The Apple.” Third place also was awarded to Stumbaugh for “The Bird.”

Tillman won first place for short fiction for “Altum Somnum.” Second place went to Molly Lyons for “Lucifer’s Daughter.” Defreitas took third place with “Dandy Man.”

In the Art, Drawing, and Photography category, Ashley Atherton, a communication studies major from Fayette, won first place for “The Dangers of Second Hand Smoke.” Second place went to Jordan Lane, a biology major from Marshall, for “Elegance.” Janie Leathers, a chemistry major from Cairo, took third place with “The Mechanics of Flying.”

The first place award in Creative Nonfiction went to Brooke Striegel, a religion and church leadership major from Holts Summit, for “Floral and Gingham.” Second place was awarded to Defreitas for “Appeal of a Sidedish.” Patzwald took third place for “Two Dolls and a Girl.”

In the Ten-Minute Plays/Screenplays category, Tillman won first place for “Green Eyes,” and second place was awarded to Defreitas for “Valkyrians.”

There were also pieces published from high school students who participated in CMU’s Young Writer’s Day in 2018. First place in Poetry was “This Place” by Lillian Wade (Marshall), second place was “It Takes A Child To Make An Artist” by Grace McDowell (Boonville), and third place was “What Once Was” by Sara Espinoza (Marshall);

In Short Fiction, first place was “Captain Crow Stealing the Moon” by Anna Valencia (Fayette); second place was “Automation” by Evan Alley (Boonville); and third place was “Plastic Flowers” by Meredith Stumbaugh (Fayette).

Honorable Mention went to Young Writer’s Day participants Steven Argueta (Marshall) for “Party of the Summers;” Hannah Eisenbath (Smithton) for “Spaceman;” and Logan Thies (Fayette) for “The Hunter’s Nightmare.”

Other contributors to the magazine included Brooke Emmerich, an accounting major from Prairie Home; Catherine Barnard, a nursing major from Columbia; D’Yanna Kloog, a sociology major from Naperville, Ill.; Echo Essick, a religion and church leadership and child development double major from Hale;

Erin Schulz, a marine biology major from Fort Calhoun, Neb.; Gregory Owen, assistant professor of theatre at CMU; Gregory Thurmon, associate professor of biology at CMU; Hope Howser, an English major from Salisbury; Janna Mackay, a psychology and criminal justice double major from Boonville;

Luke Knoble, a mathematics and physics double major from Auburn, Calif.; Maggie Gebhardt, assistant director of marketing and communications at CMU; Raelynn Henson, a business major from Houston, Texas; and tAno Mateu, network administrator at CMU.

Learn More
Apply Now