Faculty, Staff Recognized For Excellence

Nettie CherringtonAt the beginning of each academic year, Central Methodist University faculty and staff come together for a “welcome back” message from President Roger Drake, and to get amped up for the forthcoming school year.

During the gathering, individuals are recognized for excellence in their professions, as well as their dedicated years of service to Central. 

Three professors were honored with ODK Momberg Gold Chalk Awards, which are student
selected. Recipients were Professor Pam Gordy, assistant professor of mathematics; Dr. Brent Myer, associate professor of sociology; and Dr. Jeremy Reed, associate professor of English.

Generating great applause because they have served Central Methodist for 40 years were Nettie Cherrington, an administrative assistant in CMU’s Business Office, and Dr. O.A. Robinson, professor of philosophy. 

Recognized for 35 years of service at CMU were Joy Flanders, student success coordinator and associate professor; Octavia McQuitty, housekeeping; and Mozaffar Rahmatpanah, professor of physical education.

Honored for 25 years of service were Dr. James “Tiger” Gordon, professor of chemistry; Debbie Nation, payroll specialist; Bob Rackley, development research and records associate; and Linda Harfst, administrative assistant for CMU’s College O.A. Robinsonof Graduate and Extended Studies (CGES) location in Union.

Samuel Mason, assistant dean for Central’s CGES Park Hills location, was honored for working for CMU for 20 years.

Receiving recognition for 10 years of service were Nate Breland, head baseball coach; Don Brucks, Plant Operations; Duane Casady; instructional technology specialist; Kristin Cherry, associate professor of communication; Elizabeth Gold, associate professor of psychology; Pam Gordy; Karen Lovette, CGES site coordinator in Poplar Bluff; Dr. Ryan McLouth, assistant professor of music/music ministry program coordinator;

Shelley Monnig, business services manager; Kim Oeth, BSNG program director; Jeremy Reed; Peggy Robb, education administrative assistant; Dan Schmidlin, women’s head soccer coach; Barbara Thurmon, associate professor of education; Dori Waggoner, associate professor of music; Sandra Wald, assistant dean of the Central Region; and Claude Westfall, associate professor of music/director of choral activities.

Lastly, those recognized for serving Central for five years included Debra Brothers, assistant professor of nursing; Rachelle Chiarottino, assistant professor of nursing; Kendal Clark, assistant professor of physics; Diane Day, housekeeping; Roger Drake, president; Roxanne Gifford, assistant professor of nursing; Josh Jacobs, vice president for advancement and alumni relations; Carlena Klusmeyer, senior academic online advisor;

Eldon Montgomery, Plant Operations; Natalie Morris, CGES regional coordinator – St. Louis; Monica Peck-Cottrell, CGES regional coordinator – St. Louis; Greg Ray, women’s assistant basketball coach; Michelle Reynolds, assistant professor of nursing; Melissa Loehnig Simons, assistant professor of music; Hope Taylor, nursing skills lab coordinator; Patrick Wheeler, Plant Operations; and Tisha Clark, administrative assistant – mathematics.

Learn More
Apply Now