Three Students Honored With Religious Studies Awards

Three Central Methodist University students were recently recognized for awards of excellence in religious studies, according to CMU Professor of Religion Dr. Daryl Jefferies.

Dillon Drew, a senior religion and church leadership major from Clifton Hill, was presented the Hern Award for Excellence in Religious Studies.

This award is given annually, and the recipient must be a student that demonstrates a broad interest in religion and religious studies. He/she also must have classroom success, extra-curricular involvement, and frequent interaction with the Religion faculty, who selects the award.

Abby Addleman, a senior religion and church leadership, and communication studies double major from Cape Girardeau, was presented the T. Cecil Swackhamer Award.

Addleman was selected by religion faculty for the annual award, which is designated for a student who demonstrates interest and promise in a career in ministry.

Additionally, a Theta Alpha Kappa Honor Society membership was given to Tara Bush, a junior religion and church leadership major from Fayette.

Students who receive this membership are selected by the chapter moderator, and must have completed three semesters in good standing – a minimum of 12 semester credits in courses representing religious studies or theological studies, attain at least a 3.5 GPA in such courses, and at least a 3.0 GPA in his/her total academic program.

“The Religion faculty are pleased each year to recognize both the past accomplishments of students like Abby, Dillon, and Tara, and the potential for future success beyond CMU,” Jefferies said.

Learn More
Apply Now