Inscape Publishes Talents Of Students, Faculty, Staff

Creative works of Central Methodist University students, faculty, and staff were recently published in CMU’s Magazine of the Arts, Inscape, which is a project of CMU’s Mu Lambda chapter of Sigma Tau Delta.

The magazine’s 43rd edition was unveiled during a release party on the CMU campus, which invited contributing writers and artists, as well as their family and friends.

Dylan Lewis, an English major from Kirksville, and Ryley Lyons, an English major from New Franklin, were this year’s Inscapeeditors.

Members of Sigma Tau Delta, the International English Honor Society at CMU, and faculty members of the English department voted for the winners of each category to be honored with the annual Inscape awards. The faculty advisor is Dr. Kavita Hatwalkar, assistant professor of English.

This year’s Inscape contributors included students from both Central’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS) in Fayette, and College of Graduate and Extended Studies (CGES). Also, a few high school students had their works published in the magazine after receiving recognition during CMU’s Young Writer’s Day.

Peyton Carmichael, a psychology major from Canton, won the privilege of having her artwork featured on the front and back of Inscape. The pieces are titled, “Words Consume Me,” and “Fade Away.”

The award for first place in poetry went to Brittany Lawson, a biology major from Jefferson City, for her poem titled, “A Martyr, A Saint.” Christina Schatz, a biology major from Pawnee, Ill., won second place for “Novocain,” and Miranda Dahman, an English and history double major from Harrisonville, took third place for “Stress.”

First place for fiction was awarded to Schatz for her writing, “The Gene War.” Lawson won second place for “The Monarch,” and third place went to Jagur McBee, a chemistry major from Higbee, for “HIXIA.”

In photography, Natalie Van Horn, a marine biology major from Raymore, won first place for “You Belong Among the Wildflowers.” Second place went to Carmichael for “Strength of a Woman.” Van Horn also won third place for “It’s Not the Years, Honey, It’s the Mileage.”

Rachael McCorkell, an elementary education major from Piedmont, won first place in Creative Nonfiction for “We Could All Use a Lift.” Schatz was awarded second place for “Chicken Strips,” and Catherine Barnard, a nursing major from Columbia, took third place for “Keys.”

There were first and second place awards given for 10-minute plays. First place went to Barnard for “The Impossibility of Dying from Falling Tomatoes,” and Dahman won second place for “Clue.”

Others with submissions selected for publication included Daymean Probst, a sports management major from Henrietta; Dalton King, an education and physical education double major from Fredericktown; Maria Montanes Arbo, an exercise science major from Espana, Spain;

Nathaniel Liddy, a physics major from Saint Charles; Emilee Long, a nursing major from Lake Saint Louis; Ani Milovich, a music major from Catawissa; Echo Essick, a religion and church leadership major from Hale; Ashley Brewer, a criminal justice and psychology double major from Salisbury;

Morgan Hoehns, a Smithton High School student who took part in Central’s Young Writer’s Day; Lewis (editor); Jaqlyne Jackson, former director of annual giving and operations; tAno Mateu, network administrator for technology services; Taylor Plunkett, a nursing major from Wright City;

Molly Lyons, an English major from New Franklin; Emily Williams, a Slater High School student who took part in Central’s Young Writer’s Day; Ethan Lasley, an education and middle school social science double major from Grain Valley; Sierra Kolan, a biology major from Truxton; Lyons (editor), and Gregory Owen, assistant professor of theatre and communications at CMU.

Learn More
Apply Now