CMU Adds New Sorority

ThetasThirteen women from Central Methodist University’s Fayette campus have chosen to recharter a women’s social sorority, Theta Chi Upsilon.

Theta Chi Upsilon was an active sorority in the 1960s and early 1970s on campus. It was last reinstated for a time on Dec. 15, 1982, a full 35 years prior to the actions of these thirteen students. The women wanted to reinstate a piece of Central history that had existed and had a background, traditions, and a lineage at the University. 

 The first president is Caylie James, a sophomore early childhood education major from Brookfield. She said, “We are so excited to renew a chapter that makes such an impact on campus. We are ready to start our own traditions of service, leadership, and sisterhood.”

The women have adopted a turtle as their mascot.

“The purpose of Greek life on the Fayette campus is to provide students an avenue to practice their values of unity, brotherhood and sisterhood,” said Ken Oliver, CMU vice president of institutional growth and student engagement. 

“It falls in line with our mission--Central Methodist University prepares students to make a difference in the world by emphasizing academic and professional excellence, ethical leadership and social responsibility,” he added.

The rest of the members of the newly rechartered sorority include Molly Lyons (sophomore English major from New Franklin), Shelby Prentzler (junior biology major from Glasgow), Maclaren Senor (junior history major from Glasgow), Megann Finley (sophomore biology major from Potosi),

Anne Reynolds (junior special education major from Glasgow), Hannah Wescott (junior education major from Farmington), Michelle Surratt (sophomore biology major from Boonville), Rachel Leffert (junior special education major from Eldon), Heidi Treuner (junior early childhood education major from Sedalia),

Mikayla Davis (freshman athletic training major from Lathrop), Kristen Hill (sophomore pre-declared major from Pacific), and Amanda Hutchins (senior psychology major from Wasilla, Alaska).

The sponsors of Theta Chi Upsilon will be Larry Anderson, CMU professor of education, and Dr. Jill Smith, CMU assistant professor of education.

The new sorority brings CMU’s organized social groups to five fraternities and seven sororities.

Learn More
Apply Now